WARWICKSHIRE COUNTY COUNCIL

Minutes of the Extraordinary Meeting of Warwickshire County Council held on 30 June 2005

Present:

Councillor Gordon Collett (Chair)

Councillors John Appleton, George Atkinson, Peter Barnes, John Burton, Les Caborn, Tom Cavanagh, Alan Cockburn, Jose Compton, Chris Davis, Richard Dodd Michael Doody, Alan Farnell, Peter Fowler, Richard Grant, Colin Hayfield, John Haynes, Marion Haywood, Martin Heatley, Bob Hicks, Mick Jones, Nina Knapman, Joan Lea, Anita Macaulay, Frank McCarney, Helen McCarthy, Phillip Morris-Jones, Tim Naylor, Mike Perry, Raj Randev, Jerry Roodhouse, John Ross, Chris Saint, Dave Shilton, Kam Singh, Ian Smith, Mick Stanley, Bob Stevens, Ray Sweet, B.E.M., June Tandy Heather Timms, Sid Tooth, John Vereker, C.B.E., John Wells and John Whitehouse.

1. General

(1) Apologies

Apologies for absence were submitted on behalf of Councillors Sarah Boad, David Booth, Ken Browne, Richard Chattaway, Jill Dill-Russell, Anne Forwood, Eithne Goode, Pat Henry, Richard Hobbs, Richard Hyde, Katherine King, Bernard Kirton, Bryan Levy, Barry Longden, Brian Moss, Izzi Seccombe and Mota Singh,

(2) Members Disclosure of Personal and Prejudicial Interests

There were no disclosures of interests

2. Exclusion of Public

Resolved:

That members of the public be excluded from the meeting for the following items on the grounds that their presence would involve the disclosure of exempt information as defined in paragraph 1 of part 1 of Schedule 12A of the Local Government Act 1972.

3. Appointment of Chief Executive

The Council considered the recommendation of the Appointments Sub-Committee established by the Council relating to the appointment of a new Chief Executive and the recommendation from the Chief Executive relating to the appointment of an interim Chief Executive. The report and recommendation of the Sub-Committee, including a note and recommendation from the Chief Executive were circulated before the meeting.

The following motion was moved by Councillor Alan Farnell and seconded by Councillor June Tandy. The motion was agreed with no member voting against:

Resolved

- (1) That the County Council appoints Jim Graham, currently Chief Executive of West Berkshire Council, as Chief Executive of Warwickshire County Council.
- (2) That the County Council appoints Eric Wood, County Education Officer, as interim Chief Executive from 6 July 2005 until the new permanent Chief Executive takes up his post.

The meeting rose at 1.35 p.m.

Chair